Wicked, the Musical
Finally, after 4 years Wicked is back in Toronto and I saw it! Four years ago, a friend of mine, Michelle and I lined up to try to win lottery tickets but failed to get them. We were quite disappointed and didn’t end up getting to see the show since we were on a student budget.
This time, we both had full time jobs and can afford a ticket. We did get a great $65 for best seats deal! The show was excellent. I loveddddd the story and how it is integrated with Dorothy. It all makes sense now. I always liked the Wizard of Oz and now, I think I love wicked more.
*Warning! Mini-spoilers (don’t worry I don’t give out the details or ending… but I do vaguely talk about the plot of the story a bit)
The musical basically leaves off from Wizard of Oz right where the wicked witch dies and the munchkins celebrate! Then, Glinda arrives and tells the munchkins the story about how they once met. ~Flashback begins~ Then the story starts about when they met in school and how they become friends. The show was very humorous with jokes referring back to the Wizard of Oz. The characters are really well written and you definitely connect and fall in love with them. Something isn’t quite right in Oz… Elphaba & Glinda learn the truth and then you’ll see the untold story of oz fall in place. You’ll learn why the wicked witch is the way she is, learn why she acted she did in Wizard of Oz, How the characters of Wizard of Oz come about… and there is even a romantic love story… It was amazing!
The songs were mostly great but I expected more dance sequences. Outfits and Stage design was great too. The only thing that would have made it even better is if Idina and Kristen played Glinda & Elphaba. Regardless, it was a amazing show that brought tears to my eyes…
Can’t wait for lion King, the musical in April 2011… finally after 10 years! <3



Wicked is one of my favorite musicals of all time! I can listen to the songs over and over again, and I never get tired of it.